Model Horse Photography: How I Do It

This post is for the beginner photographer, since it contains neither professional opinions, or very good advice (or any advice for that matter). I began Model Horse Photography about a year ago, and I have been very spotty about doing it since. Now that winter has begun, however, my photography has received a lift.

First of all, I use a tiny little point and shoot camera that would made any real photographer laugh until he cried. It is just a little Samsung with decent photography settings.

My first step for photography is to either do it in the morning or afternoon. For one thing, the sun has its most vibrant colors at these times. Also, the only place for good photography backgrounds at my house is to the north and west. During the summer I have to shoot in the morning. During the winter I can shoot in the afternoon because the sun drifts so far south.

I pick a good spot in the snow, try to keep the horse from sinking in, and then set the camera on the close-up setting (whatever that is called). I scoot as far back as possible while still letting the camera focus. The farther back I get, the blurrier and better the background is.

Here some pictures I took from the other day.

Post Script is my best model horse, and makes beautiful photographs.
Hakan is a little more difficult to work with, since he has a stand. I plan on painting and reselling him in the future.
Gypsy Pam’s color came out beautifully in these photographs!
Ravel’s front feet sunk in a little and I am not satisfied with the tree in the background. However, he does have a nice picture.

There was a picture of one more horse, but it did not turn out well and the blog doesn’t want to upload it anyways.

Tell me what you think of my photographs!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started